What I’m working on

My daughter-in-law collects lighthouses. Not the real thing, replicas. On a trip last summer I found some lighthouse panels in a quilt shop, sorry I don’t remember the name of the shop, and purchased three of them. Leah Day’s videos inspired me to actually do something with the panels so here is what I have been working on this week.

The borders, sashing, backing and batting are from my stash.

The lighthouse is outlined and I’m working on the foreground.

The first panel is complete unless I decide to outline the windows and give the lighthouse some texture, but my practice ‘pebbles’ are pretty bad.

What I have learned so far is that I need to do more preplanning and not just jump in.

Thank you Leah for your inspiring videos.

6 responses to “What I’m working on

  1. Your thread accents really add to the design! I would like to do something like this eventually for my mom who also loves lighthouses.

  2. I love how you’ve outlined the lighthouses, and the overall free motion quilting, especially on the grass area, its beautiful! Cant wait to see more!

  3. This wall hanging was supposed to be a surprise but we live in the same house. Karen asked me this morning what happened to the pretty lighthouses she saw in my sewing room a couple of weeks ago so I had to show it to her.

  4. Wow… it’s beautiful… I’m still figuring out how to quilt straight lines… inspiring!

Leave a Reply

