Free-Motion Quilting 2012. June

The June Challange for Free-Motion Quilting 2012 came from Cindy Needham. I learned a great deal from this Challange and I want to think Cindy for her incredible generosity and SewCal Gal for hosting it.

For those of us who are new to FMQ we started the month finding our Humm-purr or quilting rhythm and then worked to get out of our comfort zone. I must say the lid to my ‘box’ kept trying to slam shut but keep it open I did.

Here is my Challange.

The green in that photo is so far off I had to include this one as it is so much better

I used Superior’s Glitter Metallic to outline the sections and switched to Rainbow for the design. I learned that the metallic gets lost in all that Rainbow shine. Best to stick to one specialty thread at a time. I like the Superior thread and the only shredding I had was the thread slipped out of one of the machine guides and another was it wrapped around the thread holder. I turned my spool over and that seemed to solve the problem.

Here is the back.

I am looking forward to using my newfound skills on my quilts.

4 responses to “Free-Motion Quilting 2012. June

  1. Well done – it looks terrific.

  2. That quilting is absolutely gorgeous!!!! Those threads can present challenges…for sure!….but it appears that you have some mastery of them. I find that, sometimes, I have to flip the thread spool over to avoid having the thread catch in the little spool slot! Really brings things to a screeching halt when it catches!!

  3. Nice quilting 🙂

  4. Wow! What beautiful quilting! Your modern quilt block fabrics are great too 🙂

Leave a Reply

