October Challenge. 2012

The teacher for October over at SewCalGal is Teri Lucas. Her challenge is similar to the one Cindy Needham gave us except Teri had us start by writing our name in thread and then adding quilted areas

I used Duponi silk for the top, Kona white for the back and wool batting. My thread was all from Superior and included Glitter (my name), Art Studio, Highlites, 100 weight silk (feathers), SoFine and Bottom Line.

The bobbin was Bottom Line with the exception of SoFine when it was both top and bottom.

October Challenge-2012

 

On the lower right I added the names of women who are very much a part of my life, daughter, daughters-in-law, best friend and cousin.

My Horizon 7700 machine started leaving thread nests on top of the piece when I was nearly finished and with thread I have used extensively in the past with no problems. My next step is to do some piecing, if the nests keep coming I will know for sure it is time for my Baby to get a check up.

Thank you SewCalGal and Teri Lucas for the great tutorial.

 

6 responses to “October Challenge. 2012

  1. Beautiful piece! I’ve found with my Horizon 7700 that when those funky things start happening its one of two things: try changing to a new needle, and take off the bobbin plate cover and see if there’s a ton of lint down there. That really drives my machine crazy! Cleaning out the lint usually cures the problem if just changing needle doesn’t. Mine also has occasional fits when the bobbin thread is about to run out.

  2. Thanks Babcia. I did all those things including a new full bobbin. I am afraid it’s going to have to go to the shop. Maybe they will have a loaner for me Hahaha

  3. Spectacular quilting Diana. Love the fabric too. I was wondering – were you getting the problems using Bottom Line thread? I love Bottom Line and use it extensively but I got a new delivery a few weeks ago and I am having the same problem with one spool. The white thread continuously jumps and nests on top!! Maybe this is just a bad spool because the other coloured Bottom Line spools I got delivered at the same time work like a charm. Might have to contact Superior threads for their advice.

    • Thanks Sue. Bottom Line and SoFine in the top.The SoFine is the same spool I used to do the piecing on the Diamond Rail Fence I started a couple of weeks ago. It worked fine then. Most of the quilting on this piece used Bottom Line in the bobbin with no problem. It is interesting to me that the decorative thread gave me no trouble at all. I pieced all afternoon using Master Piece, no breakage or nests. Big sigh!!

  4. Very nice….hope you’re able to get back “on track” soon. Maybe it’s the full moon!!!!!

  5. oh, that looks nice!

Leave a Reply

