Sewing machine tools

Every time I have to clean my machine I have to struggle with getting to those screws in awkward places.

Trying to get to that screw!

Does this happen to you too? In order to use two hands I have to reach through the harp space and around the back of the foot! There must be a better way.

My DS works in a local, small, hardware store (Avenue Hardware) plus he has just about every tool known to man out in our garage so I pulled him into my sewing room and presented him with my problem. His question to me was “Do you have to do that very often?” Silly boy. I calmly explained that yes; every time I needed to clean the machine, broke a needle, got a thread nest and a dozen other occurrences; I had to take that plate off.

Less than a minute later he brought me this odd looking thing. It's called an Offset Screwdriver.

Offset screwdriver

Here is what it looks like in use:

So much easier.

Now I can get back to my quilting, happier because I no longer have to twist my hands into knots when that plate needs to come off.

3 responses to “Sewing machine tools

  1. I know exactly what you mean! I generally use that little triangular screwdriver to loosen those screws one turn, then place the pad of my index finger on the screw and move it in little circles to unscrew it the rest of the way. Works like a charm. But, interesting that Janome designers didn’t think of an offset screwdriver. I have an L-shaped screwdriver that Singer made for some of its vintage attachments, and that screwdriver worked on many of the hard-to-reach areas of the vintage machines! Janome really needs to talk with REAL people who sew, not just mechanical designers with big salaries who never actually have to run one of these machines. Improved visibility for FMQ would also be a real plus!

    • I have had my Horizon 7700 for less then a year and really like it. The walking feet are pretty clunky though and that part that sticks down behind the regular feet get things caught in it.

  2. Will have to check this out for sure!! Excellent tool!!!

Leave a Reply

