December Challenge and other things

The last day of December and the end of another year. I have learned a tremendous amount about Free Motion Quilting this year It is hard to count the ways. A major resource has been SewCal Gal at the 2012 Free Motion Challenge project. The instructors she lined up for us have provided great tutorials. The Challenge is ending today but SewCal Gal says she has something in mind for next year.

December's Challenge was provided by Patsy Thompson and what a way to wrap up the year! We were to explore quilting borders with at least 1 feather border. In essence, we made a Whole Cloth Quilt.

I started out by tracing over the drawings Patsy provided:

and then went to the quilting part.

December Challenge

Back

I can't believe I have produced this on my Janome Horizon 7700.

I joined this group in May so I do not have 12 completed Challenges but wanted to share the ones I did do.

Retrospect for 1212

A special thanks to SewCal Gal and all the instructors who gave us a fun challenging year (8 months for me). You showed me how to loosen up and just have fun with my quilting. I'm still working on the not being so critical of my own quilting part.

 

7 responses to “December Challenge and other things

  1. Though your ‘year’ was abbreviated, you accomplished so much! 2013 lies ahead with much potential for even more techniques possible! Happy New Year! Hugs, Doreen

  2. You may have only completed 8 of the challenges, but your skill makes it appear that you have done many more. This is so nice!

  3. Your work looks amazing! I could never quilt like that on a sit down machine, most impressive!

Leave a Reply

